A Matter of Sin
Book 1
A Matter of Sin

The widowed Lady Isabel Avenbury was thrown into the role of caregiver to her siblings at far too young an age, and though she loved taking care of them, she also lost out on the opportunity to have fun and frivolity. Now she has one remaining sister to shepherd into an advantageous marriage, and then she will be free. Free to take a lover to fill her lonely nights—the only option left for a woman on the delicate edge of a certain age.

Except when she chaperones her sister to a country house party, she is taken aback by her sudden, undeniable attraction to its host. And deliciously scandalized when she finds a copy of the notorious, much-gossiped-about Ladies Book of Pleasures in his library.

When Seth Rowland, Marquess Lyndham, notices his book is missing, his interest is piqued as to which of the potential young brides at his party has absconded with it—and he’s shocked to discover it’s Isabel. Though older than the women he’d planned to court, the alluring beauty exudes a powerful sensuality he cannot ignore.

The book inspires them to begin a desperate, passionate affair. But their time together is running out and they must choose. Follow society’s rules, or take a chance at love.

CW: Infertility

Released on July 7, 2015
What Readers Say...

"Great start to a new Jess Michaels' series."

"The characters were likable. I liked the idea of a taboo book driving Isabel & Seth's meetings. The sex was hot. Where can I get my own copy of The Ladies Book of Pleasure?"

"Another fantastic book by Jess Michael's! I am seriously falling in love with this author!"

Books in Series